Borough Roster

BOROUGH OF HOPATCONG MUNICIPAL ROSTER 2024
111 River Styx Road, Hopatcong, 07843
973-770-1200



MAYOR AND COUNCIL
Borough form of Government.  Meets twice monthly.  Mayor and 6 Council Members.
Mayor’s appointment 4 years, Council appointments 3 years
Marie Galate MGalate@hopatcong.org Mayor Water/Sewer, DPW, Seniors Inc, First Responders, Open Space, Recreation, Celebration of Events, Real Estate, Redevelopment, Sussex County League of Mun., Municipal Alliance, Community Center, Discovery 12/31/27
Bradley Hoferkamp BHoferkamp@hopatcong.org Council Member Water/Sewer, Open Space, Schools


12/31/25
Christine Smith CSmith@hopatcong.org Council Member Celebration of Events, Real Estate



12/31/25
Dawn Roberts DRoberts@hopatcong.org Council Member Community Center


12/31/24
Rachel Rodriguez RRodriguez@hopatcong.org Council Member First Responders, Celebration of Events, Redevelopment, Discovery 12/31/26
Ryan Smith RSmith@hopatcong.org Council Member DPW, Seniors Inc, SWAC/PAC, Redevelopment


12/31/24
Jennifer Johnson JJohnson@hopatcong.org Council Member Water/Sewer, First Responders, Recreation, Municipal Alliance, Schools, Community Center 


12/31/26


LAND USE BOARD
Established pursuant to NJSA 40:5D-23 and §28-1 of the Borough Code.  9 members, 4 alternates.  Meets twice monthly.
Class I, II & III appointments 1 year, Class IV appointments 4 years, Alternates 2 years

Marie Galate

MGalate@hopatcong.org

Mayor (Class I)

12/31/24

Ryan Smith

RSmith@hopatcong.org

Council Member (Class III)

12/31/24

Robert Rehe

Rrehe@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)
Chairman

12/31/25

Anthony Bongiovanni

ABongiovanni@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)
Vice Chairman

12/31/24

Steve Kucevic

SKucevic@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)

12/31/27

Johnathan Taylor

JTaylor@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)

12/31/24

Richard Chiarella

RChiarella@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)

12/31/27

Judith Kracht

JKracht@hopatcong.org

Member (Class IV)

12/31/25

James Dell'Arena

JDellarena@hopatcong.org

Alternate #1

12/31/24

Rick Gathen

RGathen@hopatcong.org

Alternate #2

12/31/24

Walt Rossi

 WRossi@hopatcong.org

Alternate #3

12/31/24

Bill Wagner

BWagner@hopatcong.org

Alternate #4

12/31/25

Amy Mejia

landuse@hopatcong.org

Land Use Secretary

12/31/24

William Haggerty

whaggerty@dolanlaw.com

Attorney

12/31/23

John Ruschke

John.Ruschke@mottmac.com

Land Use Engineer

12/31/24

Bill Donegan

BDonegan@hopatcong.org

Zoning Officer

 


BOARD OF HEALTH
Established pursuant to §245 of the Borough Code.  7 Members.  Meets quarterly.
All Member appointments concurrent with council seat

Marie Galate

MGalate@hopatcong.org

Member

Bradley Hoferkamp

BHoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Member

Christine Smith

CSmith@hopatcong.org

Member

Dawn Roberts

DRoberts@hopatcong.org   

Member

Rachel Rodriguez

RRodriguez@hopatcong.org    

Member

Ryan Smith

RSmith@hopatcong.org  

Member

Jennifer Johnson

JJohnson@hopatcong.org

Member



BOARD OF RECREATION COMMISSIONERS
Established pursuant to NJSA 40:5-1, §9-6 of the Borough Code.  7 Members.  Meets once monthly.
Member Appointments 5 years, Alternates 1 year

Wendy Sutton

wsutton@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/26

Cheryl Ostman

costman@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/28

Jackie Turkington

jturkington@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/25

Dave Barella

dbarella@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/28

Darrin DiNapoli

ddinapoli@hopatcong.org

Member

12/31/25

Marie Galate

MGalate@hopatcong.org

Mayor

12/31/24

Jennifer Johnson

JJohnson@hopatcong.org

Council Member

12/31/24

Nancy McCormack

 

Secretary

12/31/2024


HOPATCONG ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION
Established pursuant to §5-8 of the Borough Code.  7 Members and 2 Alternate Members.  Meets once monthly.
All Member appointments 3 years, Alternate 2 years

 

 

Chairperson

12/31/23

Bradley Hoferkamp

bhoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Regular Member

12/31/24

 

 

   

Pat Hoferkamp

phoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Vice Chair

12/31/24

 

 

Treasurer

 

Jonathan Taylor

preilly@hopatcong.org

Land Use Rep

12/31/25

 

 

Regular Member

12/31/25

 

 

Alternate #1

12/31/24

   

Alternate #2

12/31/24

 

HOPATCONG OPEN SPACE COMMITTEE
Established pursuant to §5-17 of the Borough Code.  7 Members and 2 Alternate Members.  Meets as needed.
All Member appointments 2 years, Mayor and Council member appointments coincide with council term

Marie Galate

MGalate@hopatcong.org

Mayor

12/31/25

Elide Young

eyoung@hopatcong.org

Mayor’s appt. at large

12/31/24

Georgia Schilling

gschilling@hopatcong.org

Council appt.at large

12/31/24

 

 

Council appt. at large

12/31/24

Dave Barella

dbarella@hopatcong.org

Recreation Commission Rep

12/31/24

Jule Girman

jgirman@hopatcong.org

Environmental Commission Rep

12/31/24

Jonathan Taylor

JTaylor@hopatcong.org 

Land Use Rep

12/31/24

 

 

 

12/31/25

Bradley Hoferkamp

BHoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Alternate

12/31/24

Jen Barone

jbarone@hopatcong.org

Alternate

12/31/24


HOPATCONG FIRE DEPARTMENT

Steve Kucevic

skucevic@hopatcong.org

Chief

Wade Crowley

wcrowley@hopatcong.org

1st Assistant Chief

Mattew Smith

msmith@hopatcong.org

2nd Assistant Chief


OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT
Member appointments 3 year

Wade Crowley

wcrowley@hopatcong.org

Coordinator

12/31/25

Kevin Schneider

 

Deputy Coordinator

12/31/25

 

EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL

Marie Galate

Mayor

12/31/24

Ryan Smith

Council Representative

12/31/24

Kai Crimando

Captain, Ambulance Squad

12/31/24

Wade Crowley

Fire Chief

12/31/24

Pat Mason

DPW

12/31/24

Neil Spidaletto

Borough Administrator

12/31/24

 

FIREWISE COMMITTEE

Bernard Kotchkowski

Chairman

12/31/24

Wade Crowley

Fire Chief

12/31/24

Marie Galate

Mayor

12/31/24

Jennifer Johnson

Council Representative

12/31/24

Frank Steinberg

Fire Safety Inspector

12/31/24

Neil Spidaletto

Borough Administrator

12/31/24

Scott Wallace

 

 

 

HOPATCONG SENIOR ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Ida Brown

 

Chairperson

Henry Schmidt

 

Member

Marie McQueen

 

Member

Michelle McCroy

 

Member

John Campbell

 

Member

Fred Sampson

 

Member

Linda Smith

 

Member

 

 

Member

Betty Castoro

 

Member

JoAnn Curtin

 

Member

Marie Galate

mgalate@hopatcong.org

Mayor

Bradley Hoferkamp

BHoferkamp@hopatcong.org

Council Rep

 

 

 

Neil Spidaletto

NSpidaletto@hopatcong.org

Borough Administrator

Roseann Schult

rschult@hopatcong.org

Senior and Nutrition

 

PROFESSIONAL APPOINTMENTS

Municipal Attorney

John Ursin
Schenk Price, Smith & King LLP

351 Sparta Avenue, Sparta NJ

Municipal Bond Counsel

John Cantalupo
Archer & Greiner, P.C.

10 Highway 35, Red Bank, NJ 07701

 

Municipal Engineer

John Ruschke
Mott MacDonald

412 Mt. Kemble Ave., Suite G22, Morristown, NJ, 07860

 

Risk Manager

Wayne Diez
Skylands Risk Management

PO Box 365, Newton, NJ 07860

 

Borough Auditor

Nisivoccia

 200 Valley Rd., Mt. Arlington, NJ, 078456

Grant Consultant

Millennium strategies

60 Columbia Road, Bld. B, STE 230, 2nd Floor, Morristown NJ, 07960

IT Services

Quikteks

373 US 46, Fairfield, NJ, 07004

Health Services

Sussex County Health Department

201 Wheatsworth Road, Hamburg, NJ 07419

973-579-0370 Fax: 973-579-0399


OFFICE STAFF

Administrator

Neil Spidaletto

NSpidaletto@hopatcong.org

Ext. 120

CFO, Deputy Admin.

Lorraine England

lengland@hopatcong.org

Ext 115

Borough Clerk/Registrar

Valerie Egan

vegan@hopatcong.org

Ext. 114

Land Use Secretary

Amy Mejia

landuse@hopatcong.org

Ext. 133

Construction Official

Bill O’Connor

boconnor@hopatcong.org

Ext. 137

Zoning Officer

Bill Donegan

bdonegan@hopatcong.org  

Ext. 134

Tax Assessor

Therese DePierro

tdepierro@hopatcong.org

Ext. 129

DPW Superintendent

Pat Mason

pmason@hopatcong.org

Ext. 400, 401

Tax Collector

Patty Emery

pemery@hopatcong.org

Ext. 125

Fire Official

Bernard Kotchowski

BKotchkowski@hopatcong.org

862-324-1989 Or Ext 170

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Police Chief

Meghan McCluskey

MMcCluskey@hopatcongpolice.org

973-398-5000

Animal Control Officer

Gianna DiMatteo

gdimatteo@hopatcong.org

Ext. 151

Senior and Nutrition

Ana Reardon

areardon@hopatcong.org

Ext 301


MISCELLANEOUS

Hopatcong First Aid

516 River Styx Road
Captain Rob Auer

973-770-0440

Hopatcong Vol. Fire Company

Northwood #2, 440 Maxim Dr.
Defiance#3, PO Box 1015,
Hopatcong Hills #4, PO Box 724

973-,770-1929
973-398-0030
973-398-1612

Hopatcong Post Office

32 Durban Ave.

973-398-1046

Hopatcong Board of Education

2 Windsor Ave., PO Box 1029

973-398-8800
Fax:  973-398-2590

Trash Hauler

Suburban Disposal

973-227-7020

Hopatcong Resource/Community Center

47 Hopatchung Road

973-810-3238